Conundrum

Charlotte: “Mom, when I am chewing I have something to say, but when I don’t have anything in my mouth, I don’t have anything to say.”

This is my first grader’s problem. I am often on her to not talk with her mouth full. At 6 years old, I feel she should be putting that in practice more often. But it does seem to be true; her participation in dinner conversation is most robust when she’s got a mouth full of food.

I really don’t think she’s trying to mess with me. There does appear to be some kind of Pavlovian response each time she feeds her face.

20131117-221055.jpg

What else can we do besides reminding her to finish chewing before talking, and continuing to model the behavior I’m asking for? Cuz it is pretty gross.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

