Vacation, All I Ever Wanted (as long as it’s sunny)

Day 5 of vacation. Day 4 of rain.

The good news is that there is an indoor pool and play area so we can still tire the kids out.

Swinging in the rain.

Swinging in the rain.

The bad news is that I can’t take any more of this weather. Happy hour is getting earlier every day since the clouds rolled in. Especially since my daughter opted for “Tangled,” which we’ve seen approximately way-too-many-effin’-times-to-count, over “Brave,” which none of us has seen. And yes, those are our only options at the moment.

I’d say let’s just go home. Live out the long holiday weekend back in New York if we can’t go to a dry beach or the outdoor pool anyway. But the next couple of days promise sun and heat and we’re getting quality time with grandparents and friends and the new cafe up here gave me coffee and a pie on the house when I had to wait ten minutes for my son’s birthday cake to be ready.

Explain the logic of making only the clown's body edible.

Explain the logic of making only the clown’s body edible.

Maybe it’s just enough to not be in the office. To be in the fresh (wet) mountain air. To look at my kids and husband hours more than I ever get a chance to on a usual weekday.

So luscious and green. BECAUSE IT WON'T STOP RAINING!

So luscious and green. BECAUSE IT WON’T STOP RAINING!

It’s time I stopped equating a tan with vacation. Time off is time off. The lifeguards let you in the lake when it rains anyway (though not when it thunders). And I have no less sand in my bag than I would if the sun were out.

There’s always self-tanner.

Don't let the shadow fool you. 10 minutes later the rain came and stayed.

Don’t let the shadow fool you. 10 minutes later the rain came and stayed.

How do you handle a vacation that isn’t meeting your expectations? Take it with a grain of sand?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Vacation, All I Ever Wanted (as long as it’s sunny)

Leave a Reply

