What This Working Mom is Thankful For

1. My village. It truly does take a village to raise a child. We are lucky to have a support system comprised of grandparents, babysitters, teachers, and other parents to help with our childcare.

2. Good health. I rarely get sick (knock on wood) and my kids don’t suffer from much more than the occasional cold. As any parent, working out of the home or not, knows – a sick kid or parent upsets the whole ecosystem of the daily routine. So I’m thankful that we don’t have to make those frantic adjustments so frequently.

3. Low expectations. I rarely cook. And almost NEVER on a weekday. Scott is usually the one conjuring up meals, making enough on weekends to have leftovers for the week. Our kids know better than to expect the aroma of simmering goodness to greet them when they walk through the door at 6:30 on a weeknight. We give our microwave a good work-out and mix and match frozen veggies. Because while we keep it simple, fast and non-gourmet, I refuse to serve them crap. Except for the occasional fish sticks. And maybe some other stuff from the freezer. But, they eat their rainbows!

4. Friends. I think I still have some. They have remained there for me though I have pretty much retreated into my own little bubble these last few years. My terms have changed; I rarely go out after dark – both because I choose not to and because exhaustion prevents me from doing so. So they agree to meet me for mid-day coffee or a lunch break manicure and I am so grateful for their time and their company.

5. Co-workers. My team rolls with the fact that sometimes I work from home, sometimes I work from our Brooklyn office and that from 5:30 – 8pm, I am wearing my mom hat, to be contacted for work emergencies only. I am more than willing to find pockets of time to work in the evening, after the kids are in bed, or on the weekends, when my husband takes the kids to the playground for daredevil shenanigans which he knows I can’t stomach. So it evens out. I do believe the best collaborative work is done when everyone is on site, able to discuss face to face and SEE others’ faces, which, for me at least, really improves communication. I understand better when I can read the emotion and body language behind the words. Facetime or Skype is ok, but let’s not discount the informative energy in a room full of people trying to bring a project to life. However, life happens. So I’m grateful for my co-workers who share the belief that work and life are not mutually exclusive.

Turkey art by Campbell. Dreidel brought to you by Chanukah which arrived on Thanksgiving eve.

Turkey art by Campbell. Dreidel brought to you by Chanukah which arrived on Thanksgiving eve.

6. The tradition of watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade in my pjs while drinking coffee. With two kids, I only get about 3 consecutive minutes of viewing at a time, but watching it makes me feel like me. It’s something I’ve always done. Never wanted to go to the parade, just wanted to watch it on TV. Wondering if it’s just a native New Yorker thing (my husband, who hails from Buffalo, always throws out going to the parade to which I reply: “Sure, have fun.”

7. Love. Ok, that’s an easy one. But let me contextualize this; my children know how much their family loves them. I know they know. And I think that means we’re doing an ok job raising them.

Charlotte: "I'm thankful for my family because they keep me safe."

Charlotte: “I’m thankful for my family because they keep me safe.”

8. The obvious stuff like a roof over our heads, food (frozen or otherwise) on the table and access to good education and clean water. It’s worth pointing those things out, and paying our gratitude forward to those who lack the comforts we are privileged to have. It’s become habit now for my six-year-old to bring me clothes she no longer wants to wear or has outgrown, telling me it’s time to pass them on to people who can use them. And she must have collected eight pounds of coins for her school’s Penny Harvest. My son’s school galvanized a collection of clothes and canned goods for the Philippines Philippines as well as asking for pajama donations for Hour Children. It was important to involve Campbell in that process. I believe if I can afford to do something – either with time or money – I want my kids to know we have an obligation, as members of the human race, to do it. Plus, you never know when you might find yourself needing to be on the receiving end.

9. Netflix. No really, it’s major for us.

10. My readers. I love to know people show up when I post. Thank you all for visiting me here, sharing your thoughts and supporting my efforts as a working mama blogger.

Eat, drink and share the love. Happy Thanksgiving!

How does Thanksgiving put YOUR life in perspective?

4 Comments

Filed under holidays

4 responses to “What This Working Mom is Thankful For

  1. Daniel

    Happy Thanksgiving happy Hanukkah!!
    You’re my parenting Guru. Love the blog and I’m thankful to finally have something funny, fabulous, educational and fascinating to read.
    Warm regards
    Stay-at-home Papi in Garrison

  2. Reading this in my pajamas while watching the Macy’s parade and agree with SO MANY of the things on your list. It’s great to hear the voice of another working mom and to know how similar our experiences can be. I am also thankful for the blogging community– it’s been a great resource/support/outlet.
    http://www.mommycallblog.com

    P.S. Netflix saved my maternity leave.

    • Thank you Katie! Hope you and your fam had a lovely holiday and I too appreciate the fact that I’m not alone “out there” though it so often feels like it. Keep on keepin’ on!

Leave a Reply

